The short answer
On subscription price alone, Buildium is cheaper at most sizes. Buildium Growth costs $173 a month up to 50 units, against DoorLoop One's $199 minimum. DoorLoop One is cheaper for most sizes between 51 and about 105 units. Above that, Buildium Growth is cheaper again, and the gap widens: at 500 units it is $650.25 against $850.
DoorLoop's case is what comes in the box. Online payments, owner and tenant portals, unlimited users and API access are on every plan. On Buildium, online payments are an add-on, and Growth and Premium carry a required onboarding fee that is not published.
How each one prices
DoorLoop charges per unit with a monthly minimum. One costs $2.50 a unit (then $1.50 above 100 units) with a $199 minimum, so you pay the minimum until about 80 units. Connect is $4.00 a unit with a $299 minimum, Multiply $5.00 with $399. Those are yearly-billing rates. Paying month to month costs 20% more: One goes to $3.00 a unit and a $239 minimum. DoorLoop says every plan runs the same platform, and the higher plans add AI agents: a receptionist agent that answers tenant calls and texts on Connect, and maintenance and lease-renewal agents on Multiply.
Buildium prices by bands of units, read from the calculator on its pricing page. Essential is $55.92 a month up to 20 units and $72.25 up to 40, its limit. Growth starts at $173. Premium starts at $361.17. All three figures assume a year paid upfront; monthly billing is about 11% more.
Monthly cost at common portfolio sizes
| Plan | 20 units | 50 units | 75 units | 100 units | 150 units | 200 units | 500 units |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| DoorLoop One | $199 | $199 | $199 | $250 | $325 | $400 | $850 |
| DoorLoop Connect | $299 | $299 | $300 | $400 | $600 | $800 | $2,000 |
| Buildium EssentialUp to 40 units | $55.92 | Over limit | Over limit | Over limit | Over limit | Over limit | Over limit |
| Buildium GrowthUp to 5,000 units | $173 | $173 | $226.83 | $226.83 | $261.83 | $271.25 | $650.25 |
| Buildium PremiumUp to 5,000 units | $361.17 | $361.17 | $361.17 | $361.17 | $361.17 | $477.67 | $1,179.67 |
Software subscription per month, on the cheapest billing option each vendor offers (usually a year paid upfront). Taxes, onboarding, add-ons and payment fees are not included.
Bank payment fees change the picture
If you cover tenants' bank payment fees, add them to the subscription. DoorLoop One charges $1.50 per incoming bank payment; Connect charges nothing. Assume every tenant pays by bank transfer once a month. From 80 to 100 units, One plus fees costs exactly the same as Connect: $400 a month at 100 units. Between 67 and 79 units Connect is slightly cheaper, because One's minimum still applies. Outside that range One plus fees costs less, and Connect is worth paying for the receptionist agent rather than for the fee savings.
Buildium charges $1.35 per bank payment on Growth and $2.35 on Essential, on top of the ePay add-on. Premium includes incoming bank payments free for the first year, then $0.60 each.
Features side by side
| Feature | DoorLoop | Buildium |
|---|---|---|
| Online rent collection | Included | Extra costePay add-on on every plan |
| Tenant screening | Included$35 per report | Extra costAdd-on, $17 to $20 per report |
| Listing syndication | Included | Included |
| Lease e-signatures | IncludedUnlimited | Extra costAdd-on on Essential and Growth, included on Premium |
| Maintenance requests | Included | Included |
| Income and expense tracking | IncludedQuickBooks Online sync | Included |
| Bank feeds or reconciliation | IncludedBank transaction matching | IncludedBank reconciliation |
| Tax reports (Schedule E or 1099) | Included1099 forms | Extra cost1099 e-filing add-on |
| Owner portal or owner statements | Included | IncludedOwners portal |
| Trust accounting | Not stated | Not stated |
| Multiple users | IncludedUnlimited | IncludedCustom roles and permissions |
| Open API | Included | Higher plans onlyPremium only |
| Commercial properties | Included | Included |
| Community associations | Included | Included |
| Free plan or free trial | Not stated | Included14-day trial, no card |
✓ included · ↑ higher plans only · + extra cost · ✕ not offered · – not stated on the vendor's pages we read. All platforms compared.
Which one fits
DoorLoop suits a company that wants payments, portals and unlimited users without adding modules, and that sits in the 51 to 105 unit range where One is the cheaper subscription. It is a poor fit for a landlord with a handful of units, because the $199 minimum applies from the first unit.
Buildium suits portfolios under 50 units, where Essential and Growth cost a fraction of DoorLoop's minimum, and larger portfolios where its bands rise more slowly than DoorLoop's per-unit rate. Budget for onboarding and the payments add-on before you compare final numbers.
Both list residential, commercial and community association properties.
What we could not verify
- Buildium's onboarding fee and ePay add-on price.
- DoorLoop's affiliate terms conflict across its own pages; this does not affect prices.
Run your own numbers. The calculator prices every plan we track at your unit count, and the finder picks one for you in five questions.
Sources, the vendors' own pages: doorloop.com/pricing, buildium.com/pricing. How we work out costs: methodology. Some links on this site may become affiliate links; see our disclosure.