RentalTechMatchPrices verified Oct 27, 2026

Paid links earn us a commission, never a better rank. How it works

Software for property managers who manage for owners

If you manage other people's properties you need owner statements and trust accounting. Five platforms sell that at a published price, and the cheapest one depends on how many units you run.

Managing properties for other owners needs more than rent collection. You hold owners' money, pay their bills, take a fee and send each owner a statement. Software for this has owner portals, owner statements and, ideally, trust accounting that keeps each owner's funds separate. Most landlord apps do not have these.

Of the platforms we track, five sell plans with owner tools at a published price: TenantCloud Pro, Rentec Direct PM, Buildium, DoorLoop and, from 50 units, AppFolio (starting rate only).

Monthly cost by portfolio size

Owner-ready plans: monthly cost by portfolio sizeThe cheapest line changes with size: Rentec Direct PM, then TenantCloud Pro up to 60 leases, Rentec again, then Buildium Growth from 123 units. Hover or tap the chart for exact figures; the table has the same numbers.
TenantCloud ProRentec Direct PMBuildium GrowthDoorLoop One
$0$200$400$600$80050100150200250300unitsRentec Direct PMDoorLoop OneBuildium Growthlimit
Plan10 units25 units50 units100 units200 units500 units
TenantCloud ProUp to 60 active leases$50$50$50Over limitOver limitOver limit
Rentec Direct PM$45$56.25$112.50$225$450$1,125
Buildium EssentialUp to 40 units$58.50$75.58Over limitOver limitOver limitOver limit
Buildium GrowthUp to 5,000 units$181.83$181.83$181.83$238.50$284.42$682.17
DoorLoop One$199$199$199$250$400$850
AppFolio Core50+ only50+ onlyfrom $74.50from $149from $298from $745

Software subscription per month, on the cheapest billing option each vendor offers (usually a year paid upfront). Taxes, onboarding, add-ons and payment fees are not included.

The cheapest option changes with size

  • Up to 22 units: Rentec Direct PM at $45 a month, its minimum. It includes trust accounting, an owner portal and owner bank payouts.
  • 23 to 60 units: TenantCloud Pro at a flat $50, as long as you stay within 60 active leases. It has a separate owner portal and bank reconciliation.
  • 61 to 122 units: Rentec Direct PM again, at $225 for 100 units, with Buildium Growth ($238.50) and DoorLoop One ($250) close behind.
  • From 123 units: Buildium Growth, at $284.42 for 200 units and $682.17 for 500.

AppFolio Core's starting rate would sit below at least two of these plans at every size from 50 to 1,000 units, but it carries a minimum monthly spend that AppFolio does not publish, so we cannot place it.

Owner tools compared

FeatureTenantCloudRentec DirectBuildiumDoorLoopAppFolio
Online rent collectionIncludedIncludedExtra costePay add-on on every planIncludedExtra costOnline payments are a value-added service
Tenant screeningIncludedPaid by the applicantIncluded$10 to $18 per package on Pro and PMExtra costAdd-on, $17 to $20 per reportIncluded$35 per reportExtra costScreening is a value-added service
Listing syndicationIncludedIncludedIncludedIncludedIncludedPay-to-list sites are an add-on
Lease e-signaturesIncludedIncludedFree within fair useExtra costAdd-on on Essential and Growth, included on PremiumIncludedUnlimitedNot stated
Maintenance requestsIncludedIncludedThrough the tenant portalIncludedIncludedIncluded
Income and expense trackingIncludedIncludedLedger accountingIncludedIncludedQuickBooks Online syncIncluded
Bank feeds or reconciliationPro: bank reconciliationPro and PM: auto bank syncIncludedBank reconciliationIncludedBank transaction matchingIncludedAutomated reconciliation
Tax reports (Schedule E or 1099)1099 from Growth, tax preparation on ProIncludedSchedule E on every plan; 1099 e-file on Pro and PMExtra cost1099 e-filing add-onIncluded1099 formsNot stated
Owner portal or owner statementsPro: separate owner portalPM planIncludedOwners portalIncludedIncludedOwner mobile app
Trust accountingNot statedPM planNot statedNot statedIncluded
Multiple users1 team member on Growth and ProIncluded3 on Starter, unlimited on Pro and PMIncludedCustom roles and permissionsIncludedUnlimitedIncludedRole-based permissions on Plus and Max
Open APINot statedPro and PMPremium onlyIncludedRead-only on Plus, read/write on Max
Commercial propertiesNot statedNot statedIncludedIncludedIncluded
Community associationsNot statedNot statedIncludedIncludedIncluded
Free plan or free trialIncluded14-day trialIncludedTwo-week free trialIncluded14-day trial, no cardNot statedNot stated

✓ included · ↑ higher plans only · + extra cost · ✕ not offered · – not stated on the vendor's pages we read. All platforms compared.

Beyond the subscription

Payment fees matter more here than for a landlord, because you collect rent for every owner. DoorLoop One charges you $1.50 per incoming bank payment, DoorLoop Connect nothing. Buildium charges $1.35 on Growth and sells online payments as an add-on. Rentec Direct includes one free incoming bank payment per property per month, then $0.50. On TenantCloud tenants pay $1.50 per bank payment on Pro.

Onboarding is the other cost to ask about. Buildium requires paid onboarding on Growth and Premium, and neither Buildium nor AppFolio publishes the fee.

Comparisons

DoorLoop vs Buildium · AppFolio vs Buildium · AppFolio alternatives

Run your own numbers. The calculator prices every plan we track at your unit count, and the finder picks one for you in five questions.

Open the calculator at 50 units Take the finder

Sources, the vendors' own pages: tenantcloud.com/pricing, rentecdirect.com/pricing-transparency, buildium.com/pricing, doorloop.com/pricing, appfolio.com/pricing. How we work out costs: methodology. Some links on this site may become affiliate links; see our disclosure.

Get an email when prices change for the platforms on this page

We re-read every vendor's pricing page and email you only when a price you follow changes, plus a short monthly price report.

Confirm by email, unsubscribe in one click. How we use your email

Related