RentalTechMatchPrices verified Oct 25, 2026

Buildium vs Rentec Direct

Both sell accounting-first software to landlords and small property management firms. Rentec Direct charges per unit with a low minimum; Buildium charges by bands of units and sells online payments as an add-on.

Published October 26, 2026 · Prices checked October 25, 2026

The short answer

Up to about 116 units, Rentec Direct costs less. Its PM plan, the one with owner statements and trust accounting, is $112.50 a month at 50 units on annual billing. Buildium Growth is $173. From 117 units on, Buildium Growth has the lower subscription price, and the gap grows with size: at 500 units it is $650.25 against $1,125.

That changes if you pay your tenants' bank transfer fees. Rentec includes one free incoming bank payment per active property each month. Buildium charges $1.35 per payment on Growth, on top of an online payments add-on it does not price publicly. If each of your units is its own property, so every payment is free on Rentec, Rentec PM costs less at every size Buildium's calculator covers. Even if every payment cost $0.50 on Rentec, it stays cheaper up to 193 units.

How each one prices

Rentec Direct has three plans. Starter is a flat $25 a month for up to 10 properties. Pro is $2 per unit a month, with a $50 minimum. PM, built for managers who handle owners' money, is $2.50 per unit with the same minimum. Paying for a year takes 10% off both rates: Pro drops to $1.80 and PM to $2.25, with a $45 minimum. So on PM you pay the minimum until 20 units, then the per-unit rate.

Buildium prices by bands of units, read from the calculator on its pricing page. Essential is $55.92 a month up to 20 units and $72.25 up to 40, where the plan stops. Growth is $173 a month for anything up to 50 units, then climbs in steps. Premium starts at $361.17. These are annual-billing figures shown per month. Growth and Premium also require a paid onboarding package, and Buildium does not list its price.

Monthly cost at common portfolio sizes

Buildium vs Rentec Direct: monthly cost by portfolio sizeAnnual billing, shown per month. Rentec's flat start is its monthly minimum; Buildium's steps are its unit bands. Hover or tap the chart for exact figures; the table has the same numbers.
Rentec Direct ProRentec Direct PMBuildium EssentialBuildium Growth
$0$250$500$750$1K100200300400unitsRentec Direct PMRentec Direct ProBuildium Growthlimit
Plan5 units20 units40 units50 units100 units150 units200 units500 units
Rentec Direct StarterUp to 10 properties$25Over limitOver limitOver limitOver limitOver limitOver limitOver limit
Rentec Direct Pro$45$45$72$90$180$270$360$900
Rentec Direct PM$45$45$90$112.50$225$337.50$450$1,125
Buildium EssentialUp to 40 units$55.92$55.92$72.25Over limitOver limitOver limitOver limitOver limit
Buildium GrowthUp to 5,000 units$173$173$173$173$226.83$261.83$271.25$650.25
Buildium PremiumUp to 5,000 units$361.17$361.17$361.17$361.17$361.17$361.17$477.67$1,179.67

Software subscription per month, on the cheapest billing option each vendor offers (usually a year paid upfront). Taxes, onboarding, add-ons and payment fees are not included.

The comparison most readers need is Rentec PM against Buildium Growth, because both include owner statements. Rentec PM stays cheaper up to 116 units. Rentec Pro, which has no owner tools, stays below Growth up to 145 units and below Buildium Essential across all 40 units Essential allows.

What bank payment fees add

Many landlords pay the transfer fee so tenants have no excuse to pay late. On that basis the subscription is only part of the cost.

Rentec lists bank payments as free on Pro and PM. The allowance is one incoming payment per active property each month, and each payment beyond it costs $0.50. For single-family rentals, where one tenant pays once a month, that means no fee at all. In a multi-unit building listed as one property, every payment after the first is charged.

Buildium charges the property manager $2.35 per bank payment on Essential and $1.35 on Growth. Card payments cost 2.99%. Premium waives incoming bank payment fees for the first year and then charges $0.60 each. At 100 units with every tenant paying by bank transfer, Growth costs $226.83 plus $135 in fees, before the payments add-on. Rentec PM costs $225, plus at most $50 if every payment fell outside the free allowance.

Features side by side

FeatureRentec DirectBuildium
Online rent collectionIncludedExtra costePay add-on on every plan
Tenant screeningIncludedExtra costAdd-on, $17 to $20 per report
Listing syndicationIncludedIncluded
Lease e-signaturesIncludedFree within fair useExtra costAdd-on on Essential and Growth, included on Premium
Maintenance requestsIncludedThrough the tenant portalIncluded
Income and expense trackingIncludedLedger accountingIncluded
Bank feeds or reconciliationNot statedIncludedBank reconciliation
Tax reports (Schedule E or 1099)Not statedExtra cost1099 e-filing add-on
Owner portal or owner statementsPM planIncludedOwners portal
Trust accountingPM planNot stated
Multiple usersNot statedIncludedCustom roles and permissions
Open APIIncludedPremium only
Commercial propertiesNot statedIncluded
Community associationsNot statedIncluded
Free plan or free trialIncludedFree trial, no cardIncluded14-day trial, no card

✓ included · ↑ higher plans only · + extra cost · ✕ not offered · – not stated on the vendor's pages we read. All platforms compared.

Two differences stand out. Rentec puts owner statements and trust accounting on the PM plan only, so a landlord who manages only their own units can stay on Pro. Buildium includes an owners portal on every plan and lists commercial properties and community associations, which Rentec's pricing pages do not mention.

Which one fits

Rentec Direct suits landlords and small management firms up to roughly 116 units who want accounting and free bank payments at a predictable per-unit price. It also suits anyone with ten or fewer properties who just needs the basics, at $25 a month on Starter.

Buildium suits firms past that size, where its bands rise more slowly than Rentec's per-unit rate, and firms that also manage commercial space or associations. Price the payments add-on and onboarding with Buildium's sales team before you compare totals.

What we could not verify

  • Buildium's onboarding fee for Growth and Premium, and the monthly price of its online payments add-on.
  • Whether Rentec Starter offers an annual discount: its FAQ does not say.

Questions people ask

Is Rentec Direct cheaper than Buildium?

On the subscription alone, Rentec Direct's PM plan costs less up to 116 units and Buildium Growth costs less from 117 units. If you pay your tenants' bank transfer fees, the gap widens, because Buildium charges $1.35 per payment on Growth while Rentec includes one free payment per active property each month.

How much does Rentec Direct cost for 50 units?

On annual billing, Rentec Pro costs $90 a month at 50 units and Rentec PM, which adds owner statements and trust accounting, costs $112.50. Paying month to month, PM costs $125.

How much does Buildium cost for 100 units?

Buildium's pricing calculator gives $226.83 a month for Growth and $361.17 for Premium at 100 units, billed annually. Onboarding and the online payments add-on are extra, and Buildium does not publish their prices.

Does Buildium charge for ACH rent payments?

Yes. The property manager pays $2.35 per bank payment on Essential and $1.35 on Growth. Premium includes incoming bank payments free for the first 12 months, then charges $0.60 each.

Run your own numbers. The calculator prices every plan we track at your unit count, and the finder picks one for you in five questions.

Open the calculator at 50 units Take the finder

Sources, the vendors' own pages: rentecdirect.com/pricing-transparency, buildium.com/pricing. How we work out costs: methodology. Some links on this site may become affiliate links; see our disclosure.

Related