The short answer
Both have a free plan with no unit limit. Avail's free plan includes state-specific leases with e-signing; TurboTenant lists online leases and e-signing as features of its paid Essentials plan. TurboTenant's free plan charges tenants a little less per bank payment: $2 against Avail's $2.50.
The paid plans are far apart. Avail Unlimited Plus costs $9 per unit every month. TurboTenant Pro is priced by unit band and billed yearly. With one unit Avail is cheaper; from two units up TurboTenant Pro costs less, and at 20 units it is $33.25 a month against Avail's $180.
What the free plans include
Avail Unlimited lists rentals on 19 sites, takes applications and screening requests, creates state-specific leases with digital signing, collects rent online, tracks maintenance requests and income and expenses, and handles messaging with tenants and leads.
TurboTenant Free lists and markets rentals, screens applicants and collects rent online. Online lease creation and e-signing are listed as Essentials features, and TurboTenant's landlord forms pack is a $199 purchase on the free plan.
Monthly cost at common portfolio sizes
| Plan | 1 unit | 2 units | 5 units | 10 units | 20 units | 50 units |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Avail Unlimited | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| Avail Unlimited Plus | $9 | $18 | $45 | $90 | $180 | $450 |
| TurboTenant Free | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| TurboTenant Essentials | $12.42 | $12.42 | $12.42 | $12.42 | $16.58 | $24.92 |
| TurboTenant Pro | $16.58 | $16.58 | $16.58 | $16.58 | $33.25 | $58.25 |
Software subscription per month, on the cheapest billing option each vendor offers (usually a year paid upfront). Taxes, onboarding, add-ons and payment fees are not included.
Avail sells Unlimited Plus month to month only. TurboTenant sells its paid plans by the year only.
What tenants pay
| Avail Unlimited | Avail Unlimited Plus | TurboTenant Free | TurboTenant Pro | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Bank payment (ACH) | $2.50 | Free | $2 | Free |
| Card payment | 3.5% | 3.5% | 3.49% | 3.49% |
| Screening report | Varies by location | Varies by location | $55 | $45 |
What Avail's paid plan adds
Unlimited Plus waives the tenant's bank fee and adds faster payouts, custom application questions, a customizable and reusable lease template, a branded property website and faster support. For a single unit at $9 a month that is reasonable. For a larger portfolio the per-unit price adds up quickly, and TurboTenant Pro removes the same bank fee for a yearly price that tops out at $999.
Features side by side
| Feature | Avail | TurboTenant |
|---|---|---|
| Online rent collection | Included | Included |
| Tenant screening | Included | IncludedPaid by the applicant |
| Listing syndication | Included19 listing sites | Included |
| Lease e-signatures | IncludedState-specific leases | Higher plans onlyEssentials and Pro |
| Maintenance requests | Included | Included |
| Income and expense tracking | Included | Higher plans onlyPro: insights dashboard |
| Bank feeds or reconciliation | Not stated | Higher plans onlyManual import on Essentials, automatic on Pro |
| Tax reports (Schedule E or 1099) | Not stated | Higher plans onlyPro: Schedule E and Form 8825 |
| Owner portal or owner statements | Not stated | Not stated |
| Trust accounting | Not stated | Not stated |
| Multiple users | Not stated | Higher plans onlyPro: team roles |
| Open API | Not stated | Not stated |
| Commercial properties | Not stated | Not stated |
| Community associations | Not stated | Not stated |
| Free plan or free trial | IncludedFree plan | IncludedFree plan |
✓ included · ↑ higher plans only · + extra cost · ✕ not offered · – not stated on the vendor's pages we read. All platforms compared.
Which one fits
Pick Avail if you want leases and e-signing without paying anything, or if you own one unit and want the paid features. Pick TurboTenant if you expect to pay for software and have more than one unit, or if you want its Autopilot full-service option later. Neither is designed for managers working on behalf of other owners.
Run your own numbers. The calculator prices every plan we track at your unit count, and the finder picks one for you in five questions.
Sources, the vendors' own pages: avail.com/pricing, turbotenant.com/pricing. How we work out costs: methodology. Some links on this site may become affiliate links; see our disclosure.