RentalTechMatchPrices verified Oct 25, 2026

AppFolio pricing and features

AppFolio sells to property management companies with at least 50 units. It publishes starting rates per unit, from $1.49 on Core, plus a minimum monthly spend it does not state, so the real price comes from a sales call. AppFolio and Rentec Direct are the only platforms we track that name trust accounting on their pricing pages.

Plans and prices

PlanBilled yearlyBilled monthly
CoreFrom $1.49 per unit per month, plus a minimum spend that is not publishedNot offered
PlusFrom $3.20 per unit per month, plus a minimum spend that is not publishedNot offered
MaxFrom $5 per unit per month, plus a minimum spend that is not publishedNot offered

AppFolio does not publish its billing terms; we show its starting rates under yearly billing.

What it costs at your size

AppFolio: monthly cost as your portfolio growsSoftware subscription on the cheapest billing option, by number of units. Dashed lines are published starting rates. Hover or tap for exact figures; the same numbers are in the table below.
CorePlusMax
$0$2K$4K$6K2004006008001000unitsMaxPlusCore
Plan50 units100 units200 units300 units500 units1,000 units
AppFolio Corefrom $74.50from $149from $298from $447from $745from $1,490
AppFolio Plusfrom $160from $320from $640from $960from $1,600from $3,200
AppFolio Maxfrom $250from $500from $1,000from $1,500from $2,500from $5,000

Software subscription per month, on the cheapest billing option each vendor offers (usually a year paid upfront). Taxes, onboarding, add-ons and payment fees are not included.

Fees outside the subscription

AppFolio does not publish payment or screening fees on its pricing page.

Features

Included

  • Listing syndication (Pay-to-list sites are an add-on)
  • Maintenance requests
  • Income and expense tracking
  • Owner portal or owner statements (Owner mobile app)
  • Trust accounting
  • Multiple users (Role-based permissions)
  • Commercial properties
  • Community associations

On higher plans only

  • Open API (Read-only on Plus, read/write on Max)

At extra cost

  • Online rent collection (Online payments are a value-added service)
  • Tenant screening (Screening is a value-added service)

Not offered

  • Free plan or free trial (Demo only)

Not stated on its pages

  • Lease e-signatures
  • Bank feeds or reconciliation
  • Tax reports (Schedule E or 1099)

Read on AppFolio's own pages. "Not stated" means we did not find it there; it does not prove the product lacks it. Compare features across all platforms.

Who it fits

Best for: Established property management companies with 50+ units.

Less suited to: Anyone under 50 units (Core plan minimum).

Property types it lists: residential, commercial, community associations.

Alternatives

  • Buildium: Residential property managers and associations needing full PM accounting and owner workflows
  • DoorLoop: Property management companies and teams, including mixed residential/commercial and HOA
  • Rentec Direct: Cost-conscious landlords and small PM firms needing real accounting; PM plan adds trust accounting
  • TenantCloud: Landlords and small managers wanting a broad toolset at low flat prices

Head to head: AppFolio vs Buildium · AppFolio alternatives that show their full price.

Run your own numbers. The calculator prices every plan we track at your unit count, and the finder picks one for you in five questions.

Open the calculator at 200 units Take the finder

Sources: appfolio.com/pricing. How we work out costs: methodology.