The short answer
The cheapest short-term rental software depends on how many listings you run. Hospitable Essentials is free for any number of properties. For one listing, Lodgify Basic is the cheapest final price at $14.28 a month billed yearly. At 5 listings, Smoobu Professional comes to about $79.54 by Smoobu's own dollar estimate of its euro price. Among paid plans with a final price, OwnerRez costs least from 8 listings up to 500, the most it publishes: $196 a month for 20 listings and $374 for 50.
Only Hospitable, Lodgify and OwnerRez publish a final price above 20 listings. Guesty Lite starts lower, at $9 per listing plus 1% of each reservation, but stops at 3 listings. Hostaway does not publish prices.
Monthly cost by number of listings
| Plan | 1 listing | 2 listings | 3 listings | 5 listings | 10 listings | 20 listings | 50 listings |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hospitable Professional | $51.92 | $51.92 | $65.12 | $91.52 | $157.52 | $289.52 | $685.52 |
| Hospitable Mogul | $87.12 | $87.12 | $87.12 | $139.92 | $271.92 | $535.92 | $1,327.92 |
| Lodgify BasicUp to 1 listing | $14.28 | Over limit | Over limit | Over limit | Over limit | Over limit | Over limit |
| Lodgify ProfessionalUp to 100 listings | $46.58 | $73.98 | $95.29 | $131.25 | $184.73 | $287.17 | $557.15 |
| OwnerRez Base subscriptionUp to 500 listings | $40 | $55 | $70 | $88 | $127 | $196 | $374 |
| iGMS PROUp to 20 listings | $38 | $49 | $62 | $87 | $150 | $227 | Over limit |
| Smoobu Professional PrepaidUp to 20 listings | $35.19 | $46.28 | $57.37 | $79.54 | $134.98 | $245.86 | Over limit |
| Guesty LiteUp to 3 listings · plus 1% per booking | from $9 | from $18 | from $27 | Over limit | Over limit | Over limit | Over limit |
| Hostfully GrowthUp to 50 listings · plus a platform fee not published | from $15 | from $30 | from $45 | from $75 | from $150 | from $300 | from $750 |
Software subscription per month, on the cheaper of yearly and monthly billing for each plan. "From" marks a published starting rate that has more on top. Taxes, add-ons and payment fees are not included.
At 10 listings, OwnerRez costs $127 a month, Lodgify Professional $184.73 and Hospitable Professional $157.52. OwnerRez has no plan tiers: one subscription covers every core feature, and premium features such as owner statements and websites cost extra. Hospitable and Lodgify put more into their higher plans instead.
Run your own numbers. The calculator prices every published plan at your number of listings, with filters for websites, dynamic pricing, owner tools and booking commissions.
Who publishes what
| Vendor | Cheapest at 1 listing | Prices published up to | Booking commission or direct-booking fee | Billed in |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hospitable | Free plan | No published limit | Professional and Mogul: on direct bookings, Basic 1% commission, Premium 4% commission plus 3% processing | US dollars |
| Lodgify | $14.28/mo | 100 listings | None published | US dollars |
| OwnerRez | $40/mo | 500 listings | None published | US dollars |
| iGMS | From $20/mo | 20 listings (starting rate: no published limit) | FLEX: $1 per booked night | US dollars |
| Smoobu | From $32.40/mo | 20 listings | Professional Flex: 0.9% of each booking | Euros |
| Guesty | From $9/mo | (starting rate only: 3 listings) | Lite: 1% of each booking | US dollars |
| Hostfully | From $15/mo | (starting rate only: 199 listings) | Growth: 0.85% on direct bookings | US dollars |
| Hostaway | Quote only | Quote only | None published | Not published |
Smoobu bills in euros, so its dollar prices are the estimates it shows a US visitor; your card's conversion can differ. Each extra Smoobu unit adds about $12.32 a month before the yearly discount, and Smoobu quotes a price above 20 units.
Commissions and fees outside the subscription
- Smoobu Professional Flex charges 0.9% of every booking instead of a higher subscription. Professional Prepaid and Teams Pro+ charge no commission.
- Guesty Lite adds 1% per reservation, which includes its PriceOptimizer dynamic pricing.
- Hostfully Growth charges a 1% payment gateway fee and 0.85% on direct bookings. Pro charges neither.
- Lodgify takes no booking fee, but guest payments made online through a gateway carry a 1% transaction fee on top of the gateway's own.
- On its direct booking site, Hospitable charges 1% on the Basic option and more on Premium (4% commission plus 3% processing). It also charges 10% on upsells sold on the free plan (7% on paid plans).
- OwnerRez and iGMS PRO publish no booking commission.
Features side by side
| Feature | Hospitable | Lodgify | OwnerRez | iGMS | Smoobu | Guesty |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Airbnb, Vrbo and Booking.com connections | IncludedAirbnb, Vrbo, Booking.com and Agoda on every plan | IncludedAPI connections on every plan | IncludedVrbo, Airbnb, Booking.com and Google Vacation Rentals | IncludedChannel management on every plan | IncludedChannel manager on every plan | IncludedAirbnb, Booking.com and Vrbo on Lite; 60+ channels on Pro |
| Unified guest inbox | Included | Included | Not stated on the vendor's pages we read | Not stated on the vendor's pages we read | Not stated on the vendor's pages we read | Included |
| Direct booking website | Higher plans onlyProfessional and Mogul | Higher plans onlyStarter and up, not Basic | Extra costHosted Sites premium feature | Higher plans onlyPRO and PRO+ | IncludedWebsite builder and booking website | IncludedDirect booking site in every plan |
| Dynamic pricing | Higher plans onlyIncluded from Host; paid add-on on Essentials | Higher plans onlyIncluded on Professional and Ultimate; 3-month trial on Basic and Starter | Not stated on the vendor's pages we read | Higher plans onlyPRO+, in the US, Canada, Australia, Mexico, UK and Spain | Extra costTwo free months on Teams Pro+ | Extra costPriceOptimizer add-on; on Lite it is part of the 1% per reservation |
| Owner statements | Higher plans onlyMogul, with owner payouts | Higher plans onlyOwner payments and reporting, not on Basic; Lodgify does not say which plan | Extra costProperty Management premium feature | Higher plans onlyPRO+ | Not stated on the vendor's pages we read | Not stated on the vendor's pages we read |
| Owner portal | Higher plans onlyMogul | Not stated on the vendor's pages we read | IncludedPortal site for owners and cleaners included | Higher plans onlyPRO and PRO+ | Not stated on the vendor's pages we read | Higher plans onlyOwners portal on Pro |
| Cleaning and task management | IncludedCleaning and teammate workflow automation | Higher plans onlyNot on Basic | Not stated on the vendor's pages we read | Not stated on the vendor's pages we read | Not stated on the vendor's pages we read | IncludedCleaning and maintenance tasks after each checkout |
| Smart lock automation | Higher plans onlyProfessional and Mogul | Extra costSmart Locks extra tool | Not stated on the vendor's pages we read | Not stated on the vendor's pages we read | Not stated on the vendor's pages we read | Not stated on the vendor's pages we read |
✓ included · ↑ higher plans only · + extra cost · – not stated on the vendor's pages we read, which does not prove it is missing.
How we compare
We read each vendor's pricing page and compute the monthly subscription for every listing count. Where a vendor offers both, we use the cheaper of yearly and monthly billing; two-year prices appear on the vendor pages only. A listing here means one bookable property or unit; vendors call it a property, rental, listing or unit. Starting rates with something unpublished on top, like Hostfully's platform fee, are shown as "from" and never ranked as the cheapest.
The full price data is public as JSON, with the source page for every plan.
Every platform we track
Questions people ask
What is the cheapest short-term rental software?
Hospitable Essentials is free with no property limit. Among paid plans with a final published price, Lodgify Basic is cheapest for one listing at $14.28 a month billed yearly, and OwnerRez is cheapest from 8 listings up to 500, the most it publishes: $196 a month at 20.
How much does Airbnb management software cost for 5 listings?
At 5 listings, Smoobu Professional Prepaid comes to about $79.54, iGMS PRO $87, OwnerRez Base subscription $88, Hospitable Professional $91.52, Lodgify Professional $131.25 a month, on yearly billing where offered. Smoobu bills in euros; its figure is its own dollar estimate.
Which vacation rental software publishes prices for more than 20 properties?
Of the eight platforms we track, only Hospitable, Lodgify and OwnerRez publish a final price above 20 listings. Hostfully publishes a starting rate per property plus an unpublished platform fee; Guesty Pro and Hostaway are quote only.
Do these tools take a commission on bookings?
Smoobu Professional Flex takes 0.9% of each booking and Guesty Lite 1% per reservation. On direct bookings from your own site, Hostfully Growth charges 0.85% and Hospitable from 1%. Payment processing fees are separate everywhere.
Sources, the vendors' own pages: hospitable.com/pricing, help.hospitable.com/en/articles/4596748-hospitable-pricing-subscription-costs, lodgify.com/pricing, lodgify.com/basic-plan, ownerrez.com/pricing, igms.com/pricing, smoobu.com/en/pricing, guesty.com/pricing, hostfully.com/pricing/property-management-software, hostaway.com/pricing. How we work out costs: methodology. Some links on this site may become affiliate links; see our disclosure.