The short answer
The cheapest paid TurboTenant alternative for 5 to 30 units is RentRedi, at $12 a month billed yearly ($144 a year) for any number of units. TurboTenant Pro costs $399 a year at 11 to 30 units. Innago and Avail's Unlimited plan cost the landlord nothing, but tenants pay $2 and $2.50 per bank payment.
Count your tenants' bank fees as well and the picture changes. RentRedi has the lowest combined cost from 13 to 21 units. TurboTenant Pro, which removes the tenant bank fee, is lowest from 9 to 10 units and from 22 to 30 units. For many landlords the cheaper move is an upgrade within TurboTenant, not a switch.
Why landlords look for a TurboTenant alternative
TurboTenant's pricing page lists no unit cap for the Free plan, so a growing portfolio alone does not force a move. Three costs do. Tenants pay $2 for every bank payment and 3.49% for card payments. Applicants pay $55 per screening report. Lease e-signing is on the paid plans only, and the tax reports are on Pro only.
TurboTenant's paid plans are billed yearly and step up by unit count. Essentials costs $149 a year up to 10 units and $199 up to 30. Pro costs $199 and $399 for the same bands. Pro also cuts the screening fee to $45 and makes bank payments free for tenants. TurboTenant also sells a full-service option, Autopilot, without a published price.
Subscription cost of each alternative
| Plan | 5 units | 10 units | 15 units | 20 units | 25 units | 30 units |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| TurboTenant Free | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| TurboTenant Essentials | $12.42 | $12.42 | $16.58 | $16.58 | $16.58 | $16.58 |
| TurboTenant Pro | $16.58 | $16.58 | $33.25 | $33.25 | $33.25 | $33.25 |
| RentRedi All features | $12 | $12 | $12 | $12 | $12 | $12 |
| Innago Free | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| Avail Unlimited | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| Avail Unlimited Plus | $45 | $90 | $135 | $180 | $225 | $270 |
| Rentec Direct StarterUp to 10 properties | $25 | $25 | Over limit | Over limit | Over limit | Over limit |
| Rentec Direct Pro | $45 | $45 | $45 | $45 | $45 | $54 |
Software subscription per month, on the cheapest billing option each vendor offers (usually a year paid upfront). Taxes, onboarding, add-ons and payment fees are not included.
RentRedi has one plan with every feature and unlimited units. It costs $12 a month on yearly billing and $29.95 month to month. At every size from 5 to 30 units it is the cheapest plan here that charges a subscription. More detail in TurboTenant vs RentRedi.
Innago is free for landlords, with no paid plan. It makes its money from tenant payment and screening fees, and you can choose to absorb the payment fees yourself.
Avail has a free plan, Unlimited, and a paid plan, Unlimited Plus, at $9 per unit a month. Unlimited Plus removes the tenant bank fee, but at $180 a month for 20 units it is the most expensive option on this page. Avail vs TurboTenant compares the two in detail.
Rentec Direct sells Starter at $25 a month for up to 10 properties. Rentec Pro costs $1.80 per unit a month on annual billing, with a $45 monthly minimum. You pay the minimum up to 25 units. Pro includes one free incoming bank payment per active property each month, then $0.50 per payment.
Total cost per year, counting tenant bank fees
The subscription is only part of the cost. The figures below add the bank fees for one rent payment per unit per month, whoever pays them. On Rentec Pro they assume each unit is its own property, so every payment falls within the free allowance.
| 10 units | 20 units | 30 units | Who pays the bank fee | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| TurboTenant Free | $240 | $480 | $720 | Tenant |
| TurboTenant Essentials | $389 | $679 | $919 | Tenant |
| TurboTenant Pro | $199 | $399 | $399 | No fee |
| RentRedi | $264 | $384 | $504 | Tenant, or you |
| Innago | $240 | $480 | $720 | Tenant, or you |
| Avail Unlimited | $300 | $600 | $900 | Tenant |
| Avail Unlimited Plus | $1,080 | $2,160 | $3,240 | No fee |
| Rentec Direct Pro | $540 | $540 | $648 | No fee within the allowance |
Yearly subscription on the cheapest billing option, plus bank transfer fees. Card payments, screening and add-ons are not included.
At 20 units, staying on TurboTenant Free costs your tenants $480 a year in bank fees. RentRedi costs $384 in total, and TurboTenant Pro $399. Rentec Direct Pro costs $540 at that size, and drops below TurboTenant Free from 23 units. Avail Unlimited Plus costs $2,160.
Below 9 units a free plan such as Innago or TurboTenant Free has the lowest combined cost, because the tenants' bank fees add up to less than any paid plan's total.
What tenants pay on each plan
| Bank payment | Card payment | Screening report | |
|---|---|---|---|
| TurboTenant Free and Essentials | $2 | 3.49% | $55 |
| TurboTenant Pro | Free | 3.49% | $45 |
| RentRedi | $1 | 3.1% + $0.30 | $39.99 |
| Innago | $2 | 2.99% | $30 to $35 |
| Avail Unlimited | $2.50 | 3.5% | Varies by location |
| Avail Unlimited Plus | Free | 3.5% | Varies by location |
| Rentec Direct Pro | Free, then $0.50 | See Rentec's fee page | $10 to $18 |
Among the plans that charge a fee on every bank payment, RentRedi's is the lowest, and RentRedi lets you cover it from your settings. Innago lets you cover its fee too. On TurboTenant Free and Avail Unlimited the tenant pays.
Features side by side
| Feature | TurboTenant | RentRedi | Innago | Avail | Rentec Direct |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Online rent collection | Included | Included | Included | Included | Included |
| Tenant screening | IncludedPaid by the applicant | IncludedPaid by the applicant | Included | Included | Included |
| Listing syndication | Included | Included | Included | Included19 listing sites | Included |
| Lease e-signatures | Higher plans onlyEssentials and Pro | IncludedUnlimited | Included | IncludedState-specific leases | IncludedFree within fair use |
| Maintenance requests | Included | Included | Included | Included | IncludedThrough the tenant portal |
| Income and expense tracking | Higher plans onlyPro: insights dashboard | Included | Included | Included | IncludedLedger accounting |
| Bank feeds or reconciliation | Higher plans onlyManual import on Essentials, automatic on Pro | Included | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Tax reports (Schedule E or 1099) | Higher plans onlyPro: Schedule E and Form 8825 | IncludedSchedule E reports | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Owner portal or owner statements | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Higher plans onlyPM plan |
| Trust accounting | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Higher plans onlyPM plan |
| Multiple users | Higher plans onlyPro: team roles | IncludedUnlimited teammates | Included | Not stated | Not stated |
| Open API | Not stated | Not stated | Included | Not stated | Included |
| Commercial properties | Not stated | Not stated | Included | Not stated | Not stated |
| Community associations | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Free plan or free trial | IncludedFree plan | Not offeredNo free trial; 30-day money-back guarantee | IncludedFree for landlords | IncludedFree plan | IncludedFree trial, no card |
✓ included · ↑ higher plans only · + extra cost · ✕ not offered · – not stated on the vendor's pages we read. All platforms compared.
RentRedi includes e-signatures, bank feeds and Schedule E reports on its single plan. On TurboTenant, e-signing starts at Essentials and tax reports need Pro. Innago lists an open API and commercial properties. Rentec Direct puts owner statements and trust accounting on its PM plan, for landlords who start managing for others.
Which alternative fits
Pick RentRedi if you want one predictable price as you grow, and a $1 tenant bank fee that you can cover yourself. Its subscription stays at $144 a year from 5 units to 30.
Pick Innago or Avail Unlimited if you want to pay nothing and your tenants accept the fees. Innago's $2 fee is lower than Avail's $2.50.
Stay with TurboTenant and move to Pro if you are at 22 to 30 units and your tenants pay by bank transfer. The $399 a year removes their fee and costs less in total than any alternative here at that size.
Look at Rentec Direct if you want accounting software that also covers managing other owners' properties later. For 1 to 10 units, see our guide for small landlords and what free property management software really costs.
What we could not verify
- TenantCloud and Landlord Studio are left out. Their pricing pages showed conflicting figures when we re-read them on the date of this page: two different monthly prices for TenantCloud Starter, and no extra-unit price for Landlord Studio's annual plans.
- Avail does not publish a screening price, because it varies by state.
- Whether TurboTenant offers month-to-month billing on its paid plans: its pricing page shows only yearly prices.
Questions people ask
What is the cheapest alternative to TurboTenant?
Innago and Avail's Unlimited plan are free for landlords, with tenants paying $2 and $2.50 per bank payment. The cheapest paid alternative is RentRedi at $12 a month billed yearly, for any number of units.
Is RentRedi cheaper than TurboTenant?
On subscription, yes. RentRedi costs $144 a year at any size. TurboTenant Essentials costs $199 and Pro $399 a year at 11 to 30 units. Counting tenant bank fees, RentRedi is lower in total from 13 to 21 units, and TurboTenant Pro from 22 to 30 units.
How much does TurboTenant cost for 20 units?
TurboTenant Free costs nothing, but tenants pay $2 per bank payment. Essentials costs $199 a year and Pro $399 a year for 11 to 30 units. Pro makes bank payments free for tenants.
Does Innago charge landlords?
No. Innago has no subscription. Tenants pay $2 per bank payment and 2.99% per card payment, and the landlord can choose to absorb those fees instead.
Run your own numbers. The calculator prices every plan we track at your unit count, and the finder picks one for you in five questions.
Sources, the vendors' own pages: turbotenant.com/pricing, rentredi.com/pricing, innago.com/faq, avail.com/pricing, rentecdirect.com/pricing-transparency, rentecdirect.com/pricing. How we work out costs: methodology. Some links on this site may become affiliate links; see our disclosure.